Le long 19e. siècle 1815-1918 Nouvelles

Une démocratie bénéfique

Constitution 1874 (Referendum). National Museum Zurich. Photo/Foto: TES.

La Constitution de 1848 est toujours la base de la Suisse moderne. La Constitution, qui s’inspire en partie du modèle américain, établit le statut confédéral du pays, de ses cantons et communes et le rôle joué par ses citoyens. La dernière révision majeure de la Constitution a eu lieu en 1999. L’une des dispositions les … Plus » « Une démocratie bénéfique »

L’européanisation de la Suisse

Rütlischwur, Bundeshaus Bern. Photo TES.

L’Europe est un nom donné par les Grecs à un continent qui s’étend de l’Oural à l’est à l’Irlande (Islande) à l’ouest et de la Scandinavie au nord à l’Italie au sud. Les sociétés, les cultures et les langues du continent ont toujours été très différentes. Les Grecs et les Romains furent les premières civilisations … Plus » « L’européanisation de la Suisse »

Guillaume Tell le Congrès de Vienne

The hat of Bailiff Gessler, replica. Photo: TES, Swiss National Museum Prangins.

Lorsque les Habsbourg ne parvinrent pas à maintenir la paix et à protéger les routes, trois communautés rurales agirent et conclurent une alliance de paix en 1291. Ces alliances étaient assez courantes aux XIIIe et XIVe siècles et reflétaient l’intérêt des élites locales, qu’elles soient rurales, urbaines ou nobles. L’alliance couvrait un territoire (rural ou … Plus » « Guillaume Tell le Congrès de Vienne »

The long nineteenth century 1815-1918 News

A beneficial Democracy

Constitution 1874 (Referendum). National Museum Zurich. Photo/Foto: TES.

The Constitution of 1848 is still the political fundament of modern Switzerland. The Constitution, partly based on the American model, establishes the confederal status of the country, the cantons and communes, and the role played by the citizens. The last major revision of the Constitution took place in 1999. One of the most striking provisions … Read more » “A beneficial Democracy”

The Europeanization of Switzerland

Rütlischwur, Bundeshaus Bern. Photo TES.

Europe is a name given by the Greeks to a region or continent that stretches from the Ural in the east to Ireland (or Iceland) in the west, and from Scandinavia in the north to Italy in the south. The societies, cultures, and languages of the continent have always been highly diverse. Greeks and Romans … Read more » “The Europeanization of Switzerland”

William Tell and the Congress of Vienna

The hat of Bailiff Gessler, replica. Photo: TES, Swiss National Museum Prangins.

When the Habsburg rulers of areas in central Switzerland failed to maintain peace and protect the roads, three rural communities acted and concluded a peace alliance in 1291. These alliances were rather common in the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries and they reflected the interest of local elites, whether rural, urban or nobility. The alliance covered … Read more » “William Tell and the Congress of Vienna”