Convent of St. John Müstair
24 July 2021
The Benedict Convent of St. John (Sankt Johann) in Müstair (Canton of Graubünden) was founded around 774 by Charlemagne (748-814) and is a UNESCO World Heritage site since 1983.
The monastery is a complex of historical (Carolingian) buildings and frescos, a museum and a house of praying and working for more than 1200 years.
The museum shows the history and many objects of priceless features, including unique Carolingian and romanesque frescos, the statue of Charlemagne and a late Gothic vaulted ceiling.
The chapel of the holy cross dates also back to the 8th century and offers insights into paintings from several periods.
The Planta tower was built in the 10th century. This residential tower is the oldest of its kind in the Alpine region. The tower houses a museum nowadays.
(Source and further information: J. Goll, Convent Museum Müstair, Müstair 2004).