Romont Castle

The castle of Romont was built in 1240 by Pierre II of Savoy, (also called the Little Charlemagne, 1203-1268) to protect the inhabitants of the town he founded. In the following centuries, it was further expanded. The present state dates from the sixteenth century after Freiburg (in alliance with Bern) had expelled Savoy from Vaud in 1536. This extension has the characteristics of the late Gothic style with many windows and had a private function. The castle now houses the glass museum (Vitromusée), which has a unique collection of stained glass from the Middle Ages, Renaissance, Art Nouveau to contemporary works.

The flourishing Catholicism in Romont (and Freiburg) can still be seen through the Capuchin monastery, the abbey of La Fille-Dieu and the Collégiale of Romont, which was never formally founded as such, however, but is called so. The first construction dates from the middle of the thirteenth century, after which the construction and renovation continued until 1487 until the spire of the church was placed in 1634. The magnificent stained-glass windows, the sculpture, and the interior ship can still be admired in this medieval town at an altitude of 780 metres. (Quelle: F. Guex, Romont, Stiftskirche und ehemalige Kapuzinerkirche, Bern, 2014).