Bern,Old City. Photo: TES.

Swiss World Heritage

The year of recognition by UNESCO is mentioned between brackets.

Bellinzona’s medieval castles Castelgrande, Montebello and Sasso Corbaro  (2000).

The medieval city-centre of Bern (1983).

La Chaux-de-Fonds and Le Locle and their town planning (2009).

Lavaux landscape of wine-producing villages. (2007).

Monte San Giorgio’s rocks and fossils (2010).

The Swiss Alps Jungfrau-Aletsch region (2007).

The abbey of St. Gall and the abbey library (1983).

The Alpine Tectonic Arena Sardona (2008).

The Benedictine monastery St. Müstair  (1983).

The pile-dwelling settlements  (2011).

Two of the seventeen recognised buildings by Le Corbusier: La Petite maison au bord du lac Léman in Corseaux and l’Immeuble Clarté in Geneva (2016).

The Engiadina Val Müstair (2010), the Swiss National Park and the Biosphere Reserve (2001).

(Source and Further Information: