Michael’s Chapel in Ligerz
21 September 2021
The Michael’s Chapel in Ligerz is one of the most remarkable churches in the canton of Bern. 1261 is the first documented mention of a church in Ligerz.
The increasing number of pilgrims in the Middle Ages required a larger church building. Between 1522 and 1526, the church adjacent to the tower was built in the late Gothic style.
The wooden ceiling dates from 1526 and shows the completion of the church construction in a Latin inscription band. The Reformation put an end to the pilgrimage in 1528, however.
Reconstructions characterised the interior of the church after 1669. The pulpit, numerous choir stalls and the unique French-language tablet of the ten commandments date back to that time.
The church was thoroughly renovated in the 1960s and 1970s.