Lac Léman, La vue du Mont Blanc. Foto/Photo: TES.

The Trinational Mont Blanc Massif

The Mont Blanc massif constitutes a monument at the heart of Europe whose symbolic force is due to its size and the variety of its landscapes. The biodiversity and the natural richness of the surrounding territories reinforce that image.

The Espace Mont-Blanc covers territories belonging to Savoie and Haute-Savoie in France, the Autonomous Region of the Aosta Valley in Italy, and the Canton of Valais in Switzerland.

Most Espace Mont-Blanc is located at high altitudes: nearly 80% of the territory is above 500 metres. People permanently use about 20% of the surface for housing, agricultural, artisanal, and tourist activities.

The safeguard measures for natural and landscaped environments are intended to form a comprehensive strategy for conserving biodiversity and the natural and landscaped heritage.

The mountain passes and crossing points structure the territory traversed by four route communication axes: the Mont Blanc, the Great St. Bernard, the Little St. Bernard, and the Montets/Forclaz.

The Mont Blanc Transboundary Conference

The Conference (Conférence Transfrontalière Mont-Blanc), initiated in 1991, involves the representatives of national, regional, and local entities concerned with the Espace Mont-Blanc.

The Canton of Valais in Switzerland, the Autonomous Region of the Aosta Valley in Italy, and the Community of Communes of the Chamonix-Mont Blanc Valley on behalf of the communities of the Pays du Mont Blanc and Savoie in France are adhering to this process and are the linchpins of it on different regional and territorial levels.


On the French side, the territory belonging to the Espace Mont-Blanc covers the two communities of communes of the Pays du Mont Blanc and Chamonix Mont Blanc Valley for Haute Savoie and the communes of Bourg Saint Maurice, Beaufort, and Hauteluce for Savoie. Each of these three entities is represented at the Mont Blanc Transboundary Conference.


The Autonomous Region of the Aosta Valley is the smallest of the twenty regions in Italy. It has a special status which attributes to it the power to legislate in different fields and recognises two official languages, Italian and French.

This Valley, which derives its name from its capital, Aosta, is bordered on the north by the Swiss canton of Valais, on the west by the French departments of Haute Savoie and Savoie, and the southeast by Piedmont.


The canton of Valais shares a common border with Italy to the south and France to the west. The territory of the Espace Mont-Blanc comprises 17 Valaisian communes situated in the regions of Martigny, Entremont, the Trient Valley, and the Val d’Illiez.

(Source and further information: