The Museum of lower Engadine
19 March 2019
The Lower Engadine Heritage museum (Unterengadiner Regionalmuseum) in ancient Scuol is housed in the Great House (Chà Gronda in Romansh) or convent (Clastra in Romansh).
The powerful Tarasp dynasty moved the convent (founded in 1100 by the same dynasty) to Burgeis in Val Venosta (Obervinschgau), the Benedictine Abbey of Marienberg nowadays.
The museum presents the history of Lower Engadine and Scuol (Schuls in German).
The Bronze- and Iron Ages, the Romans, the Middle Ages, the Bündner alliances, the wars, the Reformation and the Napoleonic era and the 20th century are being dealt with, including significant collections of furnishings and objects of the unique Engadine habitation culture.
(Source and further information: www.engadin.com).