St. Michael´s Church Meiringen
30 November 2020
The fundaments of the church of St. Michael in Meiringen are from the 9th century.
The Romanesque extensions in the 11th and 12th centuries and the wall paintings from the 13th century. The church was handed over to the monastery of Interlaken in 1272.
In 1528, there was a late-Gothic expansion of the church. The wooden vault on six unique massive pairs of wooden columns was created in 1686.
The Romanesque bell tower was built in the 13 century as a free-standing construction, similar to the Italian campanile.
(Source and further information: www.be.ch/archaeologie).