Morat Museum. Photo: TES.

Morat, Burgundy, the Obelisk, the Panorama the Eidgenossen

Morat (Murten in German) is one of the cities, by the fate of history, belongs to the canton of Fribourg (Freiburg).

The Dukes of Zähringen founded the city in the second half of the twelfth century, in the same period as the foundation of Bern and Fribourg.

The Burgundian wars (1474-1477) were crucial. The city chose Bern and Freiburg against Burgundy and Savoy in 1475. After the defeat of Burgundy in 1476, the city was ruled by Bern and Freiburg until 1798.

The Duke of Burgundy besieged Morat after the defeat in March 1476 at Grandson; Burgundy suffered another crushing defeat on 22 June. The Duchy lost for the third time in 1477 (at Nancy). Duke Charles the Bold (1433-1477) died in combat and the Kingdom of Burgundy never materialized.

Morat was assigned to the canton of Fribourg by the Act of Mediation (1803).

Lord Byron (1788-1824) wrote in 1816:

While Waterloo with Cannae’s carnage vies, Morat and Marathon twin names shall stand;
They were true Glory’s stainless victories,
Won by the unambitious heart and hand
Of a proud, brotherly, and civic band, ….

The Obelisk of meyriez (1821)

The famous Panorama (1893) by Louis Braun (1836-1916) is on view in Museum Murten.

Picture: Panorama de la Bataille de Morat 1476