Romont Castle

The castle of Romont was built in 1240 by Pierre II of Savoy (the Little Charlemagne, 1203-1268). The castle houses the glass museum (Vitromusée) nowadays. The museum has a unique stained glass collection from the Middle Ages, Renaissance, Art Nouveau to contemporary works. (Quelle: F. Guex, Romont, Stiftskirche und ehemalige Kapuzinerkirche, Bern, 2014).

The Basler Dance of Death

In 1773, 32 years before its destruction in 1805, the topographer Emanuel Büchel (1705-1775) painted and mentioned the Basler Totentanz image by image in an album. Basel, Museum Kleines Klingental. Der Totentanz. Johann Rudolf Feyerabend (1779-1814) painted the Totentanz in 1806. He based his paintings on this album. Basel, Weberstrasse near the Klingentalkloster, wall painting … Read more » “The Basler Dance of Death”